DEAR 2014

Dear 2014, I would like to officially welcome you into my life. As 2013 may have told you at his farewell, I am not flawless. What you are in for is witnessing an individual striving to be better.

Dear 2014, you will note I have friends and I have enemies, some I can never tell apart. You will notice that pleasing some of them is pointless and if I am to continue in that direction, I lose my joy. I decided that maintaining an image that I’m not to satisfy others is suicidal. I humbly learned that my happiness matters-the most and I’m in control of its existence.

Dear 2014, do not judge me like the rest.2013 knows best that I do not appreciate that disease. I love correction, but you will not look down on me like I am the first acquaintance you met with a weakness. You will realise that it is thoughtful to encourage me, rebuke me, rationally criticise me as I reciprocate these gestures. The idea here is to help each other. Dear 2014, learn to build and not demolish because standing tall is the aim.

Dear 2014, 2013 may have explained how I have lately shun away from love.I remember how 2013 was impressed when I told him I had never met anyone that deserved me. He fathomed how high my standards had risen in relation to 2012. He, however, found me irresponsible when I told him also that I wasn’t ready to be committed. I don’t know if you will understand me in this area, 2014, but know that I live for patience and faith. You will soon learn that not all handsome guys are players and lack principles. You will learn not to judge a book by its covers.

Dear 2014, if I may be the only one not giving you promises people call resolutions, I am fine with it. I just want you to continue with me where 2013 left me because lying to you is lying to myself. You will see that my life is a constant struggle to perfection. I failed, I fell, I lost but I never gave up. I will frown and I will smile. I will fight and I will overcome, but through it all you will still be my companion, my year.

A new year is here

A new year is here

6 thoughts on “DEAR 2014

  1. You have a gift Aquila and yes 2014 is your year.Keep doing what you’re doing,best believe I have your back bro.xo

  2. This topic comes at the right time as we have entered a new year. It reminds me to forget about my past failures and look forward to the future while trying to be a better person.

Leave a Reply

