Live to serve,serve to live

It is the second Friday of 2014 and I’ve had a rough week as I have never struggled this much finding a topic to write about any other week. As I lay in bed this morning-half asleep, I ponder over this situation and to my surprise and relief a thought saying live to serve and serve to live encompassed my mind. I have been seeing a similar phrase on my friend’s pm on BBM long enough and as I write this, I dedicate this post to him because without him, I probably could not have thought of this as I endeavor to give a panoptic of these ideas.

In 2009, in my eleventh grade, I had a chance to go to Chengelo School’s outdoor activity centre; Ndubaluba.After having completed our challenges that week, the guides gave us attributes on paper that they had identified in us. One of my friends was said to be” servant hearted” and the picture of how this stirred great humor among us (his peers)is still vivid in my mind. I contemplated this attribute and in time, I realised that it was actually the greatest of ours all, much as we laughed about it. Now what I have realised in life is how most people are conceited, condescending and pompous. Gladly, there exists a humble few in whom greatness hides.

A servant is a creator. A master is not one without a servant he is therefore created by the servant. I would prefer to serve than to be served. Do not think of it in a way of a master being superior to the servant, but in a way of assisting anyone in any way. You see, with living to serve and serving to live, being a servant makes you a master. I mean you do not have to be a servant to serve. It brings complacency and joy when you know your efforts put someone in a better position.

One thing my Dad told me that I will live to remember is that “When you are always begging, you will become enslaved by the person you are begging from in the process”. What the old man was implying here is that you’ve got to work hard so you live to serve and not be served. This reminds me of Acts 20:35, “it is more blessed to give than to receive”. Here, giving is also serving. The fact of the matter is that it is not always that people will appreciate your service anyhow, but you will serve because it is only logical and humane. Like Kennedy said, do not look at what your country can do for you, but what you can do for your country. So service is a key to a nation’s development.

Living to serve and serving to live is not just a notion, it is a lifestyle. In 2014, make it a habit to serve others with love. Putting a smile on someone is priceless and comes with a blessing from above. Believe me this is the simplest way to build society. Forget about aid for once and give it to someone today.

Today, every day, always, live to remember and to spread the word; LIVE TO SERVE AND SERVE TO LIVE.

Saved to live,live to serve

Saved to live,live to serve

6 thoughts on “Live to serve,serve to live

  1. It is creative of you to shed some light on this topic using your great writing skills. It is true we must live to serve, even the bible appoves of it. Thanks for reminding me about Ndubaluba, we learnt a lot at that place and had fun at the same time.

  2. Hello comrade, am sorry I have not commented on the last two posts that you had put up, forgive me!! Anyway you are one of the few people that had an impact in the last two years. I am not saying this to make you feel good but simply because it is the truth. I know that you are a gifted orater and keep it up. This post you have put up today is particularly important because it sumarises what an ideology of a christian should be. We may not agree on everything that we believe but this post is vital because it stands above all doctrinal differences and should be every persons purpose in life, because at the end of it all lie a blessing. Keep it up comrade and thanks to Sacho.

  3. Pingback: Give More Of Yourself | excitable.me

Leave a Reply

