THE LOVE BIRDS (PART II)

Image

I realise it has been two weeks and a half since I first talked to Vanessa. You’re probably thinking I am a douche right? Well, I have to let you know that settling into this school has been pretty easy, but the academics have preferred a different route. Within a few weeks my enthusiasm has been drained because I am always busy.

I haven’t called Vanessa also because I am now friends with Gwen. Doesn’t make sense right? Well happened that Gwen is my classmate and boy did we click in the very first week. I am sensing she will be my best friend in the next two weeks. Gwen is pretty, intelligent and fun, but irritates me at times when she wants to flirt with me, I simply see a sister in her.

Oh yeah! Gwen is not only a good friend, but she’s also a saviour. She and her friends gave me the heads up that Vanessa is not actually angelic as she appears. Apparently she has a boyfriend at every ISAAZ school. Well, this is unbelievable right? Yeah I had thought Gwen was just being jealous until after last week’s fixture. I had seen Vanessa with two different dudes at different times and I assure you, her hanging out with them was not in the least innocent. I am sure you now get the picture why I don’t want anything to do with her at the moment.

I will admit though that despite all this, the connection I felt the first day I saw her doesn’t want to kick the bucket, but with my pride, I will simply pretend I am indifferent to her.
Oh wait!! Here comes Vanessa and some dude. I am so jealous just seeing them walk together. I fake a smile when they get close enough.

“Hey Drew, I want you to meet my friend, Rick” she says with a smile

“Who cares?” I say in my mind

This dude, Rick extends his hand and I just look at it.

“Oh my God, Drew that is so rude” She says with such a commanding voice.

She is so beautiful even when she looks stern. I am so into her.

“I am sorry, rough morning. How is it bro?” I say to Rick

Rick nods

“So rick is looking for guys interested in joining the school basketball team, and I thought you may be interested” She says with a bright face.

“No, I am not interested, you girl with hundred boyfriends” I scream at her in my mind.

“Yes sure, that would be great” I say.

Who can deny such a girl a favour anyway? You would have to be Judas to betray her.

“See you tomorrow at 10, bro” says Rick as he walks away.

“I am guessing I gave my number to the wrong dude” she says with a tone full of resentment.

“And I am guessing I got a number from the wrong girl” I say, shocked and vexed while I walk away.

5 pings from Gwen let me know she is waiting for me to show up to class, but my mood is already compromised after that small confrontation with Vanessa. I step into class as Gwen showers me with hugs.

“Hey Drew, tell these guys what a great time we had together over the weekend” Gwen says pointing at her friends. She is so hyper as usual.

“Everybody, it was a great weekend” I say reluctantly.

I just feel like slapping Gwen in the face so she can shut up and especially because she is irritating me. Fortunate for her, I have been working on my temper and so all is well.

I just want to be left alone during lunch break and I am relieved Gwen understands this too. I am enjoying my peace in the common room when this dude comes up telling me Vanessa wants to see me. I tell him I don’t want to see her.

The next minute I look up, she is in my vicinity.I will tell you every time I see her, I simply lose my senses. I am just glad my heart isn’t beating uncontrollably like every other time I see her .Her hair falls behind her head in a ponytail making her face more visible. Her eyes shine while she stares at me. She’s such a beauty and wait, she also wants to see me.

“Get up sir, we need to talk”

She has such a sweet convincing voice. Maybe Adam ate the apple because Eve had a similar voice.

“What?” I say,Holding my left ear pretending not to have heard.

“You heard me right”

There is no denying when it comes to her. So we go for a walk.

“So I hear you are now dating Gwen?”

“Are you kidding me? I…”

“Listen Drew, I just want to let you know that don’t ever try to fool me again. I dislike people that take me for granted. I am not any other girl you meet and pretend to like, okay” She says without emotion.

“Well Gwen told me you have a boyfriend at multiple schools and last week, I saw you with two different boys. How will you defend yourself miss one of a kind?” I say with a smile.

“Well firstly, Drew, I don’t need to defend myself, secondly you need to know that judging people by what you have heard about them from others is so immature and ridiculous and thirdly those boys you saw are my very close cousins we do get childish at times”

With that, she storms off and I am left speechless. I feel so upset with how Gwen played a number on me. I can see her and her friends coming in my direction after they see me and Vanessa part.

Image
“What were you doing with that h*e, Drew”, Gwen says with a disgusted look.

I feel so much resentment at this.

“Shut the hell up Gwen. I trusted you as a friend and little did I know that you are the person that stood in the way to my happiness. You know, you and this bunch of little friends disgust me right now and I don’t ever want any of you close to me. Bye Felicia”

I have never been this furious.

 

Leave a Reply

