Macky 2- Slap D:Kings of Zambian Hip-Hop or Kings of Zambian Music?

Slap n mack

First of all, compliments of the season, friends and Merry Christmas to all of you that are celebrating Christmas.  Secondly, I want to talk about what I will call the funniest and most unnecessary entertainment show of this year. Yes you are right, I am talking about yesterday’s Macky and Slap show.

Oh no don’t perceive me wrong, I will be happy to be labeled a critic rather than a hater, because in truth, I  appreciate the works done by these two artistes, the paths they have cleared for a few artistes and the legends they are. I actually slam their jams almost every week, especially Macky 2 who I actually prefer to the other.

Now is Macky 2 a better rapper than Slap? A flat NO from me.  Despite Slap sounding like he wants to cry, he is one guy with those lines that will leave you and your friends saying, “hoooooooo”. I think everyone knows Slap is the better rapper and that is one reason I found that show so unnecessary and a waste of time. A strategy to suck funds from fans? yes, most likely.

I think a fitting title would have been who is the King of Zambian Music, who is the bigger artist, who is the better entertainer? You know? Personally, I feel Macky 2 is the bigger artiste and better entertainer.

I also feel the two MCs are overrated when it comes to the Genre. If I was given a chance to present a similar show to Zambia, I would have three artists in mind to vie for the position. I know you already have Chef 187 in mind. Then of course I would add Bobby East and Stevo to the list. The fire that these three dragons spit is enough hell for the game.  It is just in people’s minds that Macky 2 and Slap are heavy weights, but in all fairness we have overlooked artistes that probably overtook these two dudes.

You just won’t allow Bobby East on your song or he will go ‘Kendrick Control’ on you. Stevo will decapitate or cremate, Chefy, ahhhh you already know.

Lol Okay, too much about these dudes, but my point is yes Slap and Macky 2 are big, but none of them is the king of Zed Hip-hop, maybe in the past, but not anymore. We should not confuse having myriads of fans behind someone as a prerequisite for the best rapper. That’s just like saying,in RnB,that Justin Bieber is a better singer than Chris Brown. We should evaluate what exactly defines a top MC.

Shout out Camster, Kritic, Tonny Grammz, Tiye P, Swish, Dope G, Cleo Ice Queen, and a lot more others that keep bringing the fire, but are somehow under-appreciated.

Wish you all a prosperous 2016, be safe and look forward to great works coming from our talents next year.

3 thoughts on “Macky 2- Slap D:Kings of Zambian Hip-Hop or Kings of Zambian Music?

  1. Don’t claim to know so much about about zed music, and strt calling Slapdee some tuma names Like u matter be smart don’t dumb

Leave a Reply

